Art

How do you judge art; is it based on the quality of the piece or the prestige of the artist?

A few weeks back, I sat there watching Show Me the Monet on BBC Two, which is the X-Factor of the art world where the candidates have some conceivable talent.  The judges on it were dismissing the artists not because of their work, which were pretty good, but because they didn’t have enough experience in the industry.  One of the pieces that passed the initial assessment and went on exhibition was a BAG OF FUCKING RICE.  IT EVEN RECEIVED A BID OF OVER £300.  If I was Uncle Ben, I’d be filing a court case.

The sort of shite that passes as a masterpiece these days.

The art world is nothing but a load of shit nowadays, much like in music.  A lot of “artists” barely have any skills or talent but when they tip a bag of rubbish on the ground, it’s considered a masterpiece by themselves and “critics” purely because it has some deep-lying meaning.  I can tip a chair over, say it resembles the state of the world we live in and I’ll become a god to these cunts.

One of the worst culprits is Tracey Emin, she won the Turner Prize (considered the holy grail to these arses) for making a mess in a tent in the ’90s.  More recently, she designed a poster for the Paralympics consisting of a doodle, in Biro, of a couple of birds underneath a patronising caption.  Probably took her 2 minutes max on the back of a napkin and scanned it to make it larger.  The rest are just as bad too, you could have got nursery children to design better ones, which would also fittingly adhere to London 2012‘s ‘inspire a generation’ motto.

I did see in the news a while back of someone making fake Emin prints and selling them for £25000.  If you are willing to pay that much for shit like that then you deserve to be ripped off, no matter who the artist is claimed to be.

If Van Gogh did this, how much would it be worth?

In year 1 (so I would have been most likely 5, or 6 for the last few weeks) my drawing of a coffee grinder was so good, the head teacher put it up on the wall of her office.  I am a very good drawer, or was as I’ve not done it for so long, but I’m not interested in it anymore.  Drawing is too enduring and I prefer it to be all done electronically now, well I don’t mind the odd sketch-up every now and then.  One plus thing is that the digital art world isn’t bossed around by obnoxious wankers who claim to be “critics” in search of a hidden meaning, just pedantic people like myself who’s quick to spot a mistake — known as ‘constructive criticism’.  Shame that some don’t take their mistakes too nicely.