Morality

Please don’t brush your moral values on me, you’ll only end up looking like an arrogant prick, in fact, you are an arrogant prick for trying to do so in the first place.   Right, I had an argument with this guy (let’s call him Harry) on Twitter over a member of the public, who jumped off the top of the Arndale car park in town.  Harry found it “shocking” that some people weren’t being respectful towards someone, who just committed suicide.

I can see where they [the “disrespectful” ones] are coming from, I’d be pretty pissed off if anyone disrupted my plans.  If that no-mark  disrupted people’s Friday shop another way — let’s say parking inappropriately — the moral police wouldn’t be out in force, no, Harry would be just as pissed off but because the guy died, we somehow should see past the chaos and instead be in sorrow.  The guy went to town to kill himself, he didn’t take any victims so why should I feel sorry?  He could have topped himself another way, away from a busy town centre, also I (nor Harry) didn’t know who he was so I have no emotional bond towards him.   People do this all the time all over the world, we don’t know them but is Harry in any grief at all over Bob from Utah plummeting from the roof of a block of flats?  I very highly doubt it, they’re just opening a can of worms for themselves.

You should listen to me because I know better than you mere mortals.

It’s like people want us all to be depressive grief junkies, too scared of being viewed in a negative light by society and doing it all wrong.  How dare us minding our own business, we should be paying tribute to the soldiers fallen in the Middle East!  JUST NO.  Because I’m not paying my respects, it doesn’t make me disrespectful.  If I want to pay my tribute then I will in my own time, maybe on Remembrance Sunday or November 11th, not because some disgruntled bloke from a garrison town wants to ram grief down all our throats.  Even the news doesn’t want to be all sad and gloomy.  Reporting on a rural mobile phone throwing event isn’t unnecessary, reporting on the goings on in Iraq is to most of us.  The difference is phone throwing is a sort of feel-good story, unless you work at Mazuma.

If fighting is supposed to make us sad, then why is his camel pulling a face?

Get off the moral high ground and keep your ideals to yourself, thinking you’re somehow superior to the rest of us.  We’re not sheep and we don’t want to be in mourning over people we don’t know 24/7.  We want to be happy, not be sad and depressed all of the fucking time.